Proposal & Time Plan

Proposal

Rationale

From the very beginning I wasn’t the most confident with the new software (Adobe Photoshop) and throughout this course, my skills with the program have developed massively and I feel much more confident using it. My knowledge of the subject area has increased hugely influencing my chosen pathway to be graphic design. My progress from the first 7 projects includes working more digitally which is more into what I want to work into. As for the achievements they include the OKIDO magazine and business re-branding because they are more in my field of work (graphic design). My work has been a mixture of handmade and digital, but for this project, I wanted to develop the digital skills more rather than have a handmade outcome.

Project Concept

My project concept is to represent my hobbies and interests in such a way that it relates to what I would like to do in the future. So my idea for this project is to create an online magazine that will represent myself, there will be pages talking about my hobbies, interests, and ambitions. The magazine will also contain posters (like an advertisement) and a link to an animated version that you can view as well (animated poster/cinemagraph). The magazine will also include an animation made either by hand or digitally that will represent a hobby of mine in some way.

The research that is needed for this project will be on making an effective magazine and looking at magazines first hand. I will need to research/learn how to make an animation effectively and in a simple way. I anticipate on creating a small magazine about my life now and what I would like to do in the future.

The types of materials that will be needed for this project are a computer, sketchbook, pens/pencils and a camera. The work that will be needed for this project will be a lot but keeping up with the time plan will help to keep track of my work.

Evaluation

The way I will reflect on and evaluate my work by writing a post for my ‘Blog The Week’ which is a summary of my week as a whole. I will also write down ideas and notes for my ideas and experiments etc. The ways I will record my decision making for this project is by surveys from my target audience, this will help me to see what they like from my ideas and where I can improve them.

Bibliography

Websites:

The title of website

Place of publication Publisher Available from URL

Date site accessed.

Sport Magazine Belfast, Northern Ireland Wireless Group http://sport-magazine.co.uk 27/03/17
Wikipedia – Alex Trochut Unknown Wikimedia Foudation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alex_Trochut 06/04/17
YouTube – Euro 2016 Goals USA Google https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xp9zFe5zbg 06/04/17
Andy Blackmore Design N/A N/A http://www.andyblackmoredesign.com/ 11/04/17
YouTube – World Cup Animation Lionel Messi 2014 USA Google https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awbRkHixLWk 11/04/17
YouTube – Wayne Rooney’s Bicycle Kick Goal Animation USA Google https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta7992Tgjx4 11/04/17
Wikipedia – Animation Unknown Wikimedia Foundation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animation 13/04/17
YouTube – Chanel 2017 Animation Advertisement USA Google https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkY0D8igcKg 14/04/17

Magazines and Journals:

Author’s surname

Author’s Initial Year of Publication Title of Article Title of Periodical

(underline or italic)

Volume and Part Number

Page Numbers

Millar J April 2017 Men’s Health (Magazine) – The Re-education of Jason Statham The best thing about talking to Jason Statham N/A 50-57


Time Plan

Project Action Plan and Timetable

Week Date Week

Beginning

Activity / What you are intending to do –

including independent study

Resources / What you will need to do it –

including access to workshops

1 20/03/2017 Start

  • Read all Documents/Brief
  • Mind Maps
  • Mood Boards
  • Initial Sketches/Ideas
  • 3 Selected Ideas
  • Time Plan/Action Plan
  • Proposal Draft (Attempt)
  • Computer
  • Sketchbook & Pencil/Pen
2 27/03/2017
  • Finalise Idea
  • Proposal Draft
  • Research Plan
  • Research (Primary & Secondary) – Magazine/Poster/Animation Analysis
  • Bibliography
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Camera/Phone
  • Notebook
  • Magazines
  • Posters
3 03/04/2017
  • Research (Primary & Secondary) – Artist (Richard Swarbrick)(Andy Blackmore)(Alex Trochut)
  • Bibliography
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Camera/Phone
  • Notebook
  • Magazines
  • Posters
4 10/04/2017
  • Research (Primary & Secondary) – Techniques (Animation)(Typography Styles)(Poster Animation)
  • Bibliography
  • Testing
  • Experimentation
  • Peer Review
  • Sketchbook
  • Computer
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Magazines
  • Posters
  • Flipbook
5 17/04/2017
  • Testing
  • Experimentation
  • Developments
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Flipbook
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
  • Graphics Tablet
6 24/04/2017 Proposal, Time Plan & Bibliography DEADLINE – 26th April

  • Final Developments
  • Start to create Poster
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Graphics Tablet
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
7 01/05/2017
  • Finish off poster (and animated version)
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Graphics Tablet
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
8 08/05/2017
  • Create animation
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Graphics Tablet
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
9 15/05/2017
  • Finish off animation
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Graphics Tablet
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
10 22/05/2017 Unit 9 DEADLINE – 24th May

  • Start to create magazine
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Graphics Tablet
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
11 29/05/2017
  • Continue to create magazine
  • Peer Review
  • Computer
  • Graphics Tablet
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
12 05/06/2017
  • Finish off magazine
  • Peer Review
  • Evaluation
  • Computer
  • Graphics Tablet
  • Pencils/Pens
  • Sketchbook
13 12/06/2017 Unit 8 DEADLINE – 12th June
Leave a Reply

