Experiments

Animation

Digital Animation with Graphics Tablet

Animation-Test

This is the first animation I’ve done with a graphics tablet and it was a bit of a struggle to do. It was also the first time I used a graphics tablet as well, so I had to get used to it a bit first before I could start to create the simple animation. The possibilities with the digital animation are endless and easier to create because of the ability to zoom in and out for detail in needed.

The animation would be football related for the final piece but I was just having a go at drawing freehand of a person walking. The way I might create the final animation where I show off some form of a football goal, I will probably trace of the frames a bit like the technique rotoscoping. This will then allow for a more accurate and better outcome.


Flipbook Animation

Flipbook-Test.gif

This is a very small flipbook animation test to see what creating a flipbook would be like. Overall it isn’t easy, you have to have small drawings and to be able to align and draw accurate images one after another on the consecutive pages. The drawings I decided to do were eyes where the pupil goes from the centre, then left, right and back to the centre. I feel as though out of the possible animation techniques that the flipbook can be effective, but it is much harder to do compared to digital animation.

The skill that goes into creating flipbook animations is incredible because the book itself is generally huge because of all the time and effort put into the animation and drawings. In addition to this, you also need to be good at flipping through the book because you don’t want to miss any pages as it will affect the whole animation.


Photo Animation

Photo-Animation

This is a simple animation technique that is used commonly today. The thing with photo animations is that you have to make sure the alignment of the photos are done well enough so the animation works effectively. The same problems with the photo animation and flip book animation are the alignment of the illustrations, the time to take the photos and put it into an animation, the detail in the illustrations (if needed).


Posters (Static and Animated)

Headlights Glow Animated Poster (Lexus LFA)

This poster is simple, there really isn’t much to it. The static poster uses a darker brightness and higher contrast to bring out the car more and darken the background. I’ve also used a vignette around the edges of the image to make the main focus to be on the car as it is also white and can stand out in bold from a darkened background. To finish it off I added a gradient lightly over the top and added the car model and make in Lexus inspired font.

For the animated poster, the outcome looks pixelated which I will have to find a way to prevent this from happening. If it looked just like the static poster then I feel that it would work really well, maybe add some more or change the animated features but overall it works. the idea was to have a darkened background and then make the headlights glow and fade, this would then make the car stand out. My inspiration came from this image below:

fb72841f206b4b8e4ad262c03c87c3d5.jpg

The way I can get the audience to view the animated poster would be by including a QR code in the corner of the static poster that would direct you to the animated poster. Another option is to have the magazine online where the poster is animated already or have a clickable link on the poster to view the animated version. The possibilities all rely on what type of format the magazine will be – print or digital.


Drifting McLaren 675LT Poster

This is again just an experiment for the kind of effects that could be done for the poster. For the static poster, I just adjusted the brightness and contrast and added a motion blur to the background behind the car in the direction that the car is moving. In terms for the animated poster, I only made the car move a little bit forwards and backwards, no further adjustments made. I can add more adjustments, or even change what gets animated in the poster.

The other idea I had on what I could animate within the poster was the drifting smoke so I could develop the poster further to show this instead. Also, the motion blur needs to be done better by myself as it did overlap the car in areas which I do need to improve. I could even find out which Adobe software might be the best to create an animation on so I can get the best result possible. I have currently been using Adobe Photoshop for creating the animations and animated posters and there might be a better program to use instead.

I don’t think this idea truly represents an animated poster as the whole image is moving, so that is something that I would want to change and develop.

Variation with animated drifting smoke:

Drift-Smoke-Animation-Test

The outcome does look pixelated and that is because there are not enough colours allowed for me when I export the GIF. I am limited to 256 colours so that is why the outcome is not exactly like the original image. I thought the idea of animating smoke would be a great idea for an animation and would be very effective. However, I feel as though it might be too complicated and I am unable to get the effect to look that good.


BMW Animated Poster

Slightly adjusted animated poster:

BMW-Animated-Poster

This poster is showing off the look of a car festival, the images being used is from Goodwood Festival of Speed (FOS) from 2016. I added in extra tire smoke to the static poster for added effect and the soft overlay text of the event. I thought the use of a soft overlay would result in the audience to still be able to notice it but not for it to be too overpowering. I also increased the brightness and contrast on the static poster, this was because a lot of white is used in the photo

This video works better for a cinemagraph styled animated poster because the video was held steady and didn’t move so I could do the cinemagraph effectively. If I am to choose this poster design idea I could develop the animation further and make it smoother and focus more on the small details.

The outcome is a little pixelated but it isn’t too obvious to the eye, so it works much better than the McLaren animated poster. The additional use of the mask over the top of the screenshot image from the video allows for the car to be the only feature to move in the animation. The transition of the car is very sudden and the way it could be made better is extending the length of the animation but that isn’t possible. There could be ways in which I could make the animation more smooth if I develop this animated poster fo the poster.


Experimenting with Photoshop Effects

These images are just getting to grips with what kind of effects you can do with Photoshop and how I could integrate it into my work. Some of the effects are relly eye-catching and I would see working very effectively in the magazine. The effects that I tested include a double exposure, light trails, dispersion and smoke trails.


Typography Styles

Guardians of the Galaxy 3D Title Style Recreation Attempt:

3887973D Text Attempt

This style of typography requires the 3D effect which I did find a struggle to use, it took three attempts to get the result that I received. I will need more practice if I were to try using 3D text again in any of my projects or even in this one. The text itself looks good, a little on the cartoon side but I’m just not used to the lighting effects associated with the 3d effect. I feel as though with more tutorials and practice I could use the 3D tool more and be more confident using it and create much better pieces of work.

I also tried out some different font styles down on paper to see which may fit the style of magazine that I am creating. They included experimenting with how the text will look for the headline of the magazine, article heading, or poster title, etc.


Colour Light Effect Test – Photoshop

Text Light Effect Test

This effect is really effective because it is bold, eye-catching and colourful. It might not work for a magazine but the effect itself is clever and could be adapted in small ways to fit into a magazine. The use of the dark background and having the colours of the text fly out to catch the eyes of the audience to the text. It is very bold and clear and would be useful at engaging the audience to see more in the magazine.

This effect is fairly simple, it just takes a lot of steps to complete, but the outcome is very effective for its purpose – being bold. It also adds the colour burst to the page, in addition to this a perspective (3D effect) where the glow is coming out of the image.


Retro Style Effect Test

Retro Style Font

This typography style looks rigid, it provides an old school theme to the font. I feel that this effect is effective because it incorporates the older theme and it could be very useful along with older photos and products etc. The use of the simple green, blue and red colours and the jagged text makes this effect simple and easy to create. This style of typography is could be used in magazines, posters and more as long as it matches the area of focus/theme (videos – old/new, old news, etc.).


Magazine Company Name and Design

File_000

Company Name: One Life

Slogan: Start Living

The idea behind this magazine company name and slogan are to engage the audience to the magazine to live more, you only have one chance to live to spend it enjoying yourself more. Each month would have a different person’s ‘day in the life’ so that’s the main selling feature. This would work well for my project as I am relating this project to my day in the life.

Logo Design Idea 1

Magzine Company Logo

Magazine companies all have one colour and are simple, with either the letters spread out or condensed close together. they are simple but the colour choice made for each individual magazine makes the company stand out and engaging. This company I’ve just made up is simple, has only one colour and the letters are spread out so it’ll fit the whole width of the front cover. Using the phrase ‘One Life’ is related to my project and magazine because it is about the day in the life of me and if it was a real magazine it’ll include the day in the life of another person each month.

Personally, I prefer this design because the way I’ve created it looks more engaging with the use of separating the letters out from each other. This also allows me to present the company name across the whole front cover which is a main feature of magazines today. The use of the colour could change to match the colour scheme of the magazine but for the actual company, it will be red.

Logo Design Idea 2

Magzine Company Logo 2

This idea is about having a more condensed version of the logo before, it will not take up the whole front cover and would be more situated in a corner. The use of the boxes around the logo are to represent being closed in and limited on what you can do, it links to the purpose of the magazine. The boxes also make the logo stand out better at a distance as it works well with the dark red of the logo text colour.

Logo Design Idea 3

Magzine Company Logo 3

This logo design is similar to the previous two but the text is more condensed together and the typography itself isn’t all upper case. It is also been put into one whole word rather than two and the use of the capital letters help to represent the two words within the logo of the magazine. This design is less bold compared to the previous two designs which can make the design less engaging and eye-catching.


Magazine Design/Layout

File_000

The design ideas I had for the magazine front cover included having the main image of myself either playing a football or myself normally. I thought about it and preferred to have myself playing football, my reasoning being that it looks more engaging and also more interesting.

For these three designs, the effects and image adjustments are different for each one, this is to see what using different effects would change what the outcome would look like and be able to compare them. It also allowed for me to try and make this magazine different to the normal magazines you find in the shops. For the front cover, I will most likely get another picture of myself playing football because for this photo I am at Goals Plymouth, where I would rather have the picture at Central Park (grass pitch).


Magazine Front Cover Test

For the first design, I tried something where I removed myself from the background and added a green triangle acting as half the page. The effect idea came from how I’m kicking the ball, I thought putting the separation line through myself would be effective. The colour scheme for the page came from the colour of my boots which I wanted to stand out from the rest of the photo of myself, so what I did is make myself black and white and leaving my boots in colour.

The use of the two colours for the background is continued in the headline and sub-headline to emphasise the effect of the background. I did then continue that style for the rest of the page – in the company name and slogan, there are a few improvements that could be made to improve the look even further to greater benefit the advertising of the magazine.


Magazine Front Cover Test 2

The second design was about making the look of the magazine represent a normal magazine you would find in the shops, this was with the additional use of the plug and splash features on the front cover to advertise the inside articles to the audience (sell the magazine). The use of the headline being near the bottom is better than in the middle or the top because it means the audience have to look from top to bottom of the magazine before reading what this issue is about. The plugs/splashes on the left of the page have the plus symbol (+) to represent the fact that it is an inside article. In addition to this, the choice of colour was to match the general colour scheme of the page and used for the text, the reason for the box was to make the text stand out from the background.

The plugs/splashes on the left of the page have the plus symbol (+) to represent the fact that it is an inside article. In addition to this, the choice of colour was to match the general colour scheme of the page and used for the text, the reason for the box was to make the text stand out from the background. I feel as though the additional use of the plugs on the front cover is effective and can engage the audience to the magazine better, however for an online magazine it isn’t needed as you can have a description of the issue instead to inform the audience what’s in the magazine.


Magazine Front Cover Test 3

This design included some layout features and along with some changes on how to represent the magazine. So for starters, I adjusted the company name and slogan (size and location. I put both of them on the left side touching the edge of the page, this was to see what it might look like if the layout was changed from the previous designs. I didn’t think that it would look as good as if it was across the whole width but it actually looks fairly good and effective. The white border that was added to the cover presented a clean and professional representation of the magazine. The border cuts off where the company name and slogan are to not complicate or make the design unclear.

The background is still included in this cover design because I wanted to show the environment around myself kicking the ball. If I got rid of the background I would need to find a background that would be suitable to have and I feel as though it wouldn’t work as well for this cover design.

Audience Survey

3

1

1

3

1

2

1

1

Leave a Reply

