End of Year Project Evaluation

This project was much bigger compared to previous projects that I have completed because it was an end of year project in the style of an FMP (final major project). Throughout the project, I have worked hard to complete the work to my highest standard and make sure that it is all done in time as well. This project was focused on my day in the life and about myself (my interests and ambitions), this made the project more exciting and I chose to present the information in the format of a magazine. This meant that I would enjoy this project even more because creating magazines is something that I find interesting and enjoyable to do.

The events that happened within my project all started before I even had my idea, this was planning and doing my day in the life. From the ideas, that came into my head after this all included representing myself in some way so I decided to take that further by doing a magazine on myself. The choice of doing an animation and animated poster were techniques I wanted to try out in this project, so there was an element of new in my work.

The project inspired to me because doing a magazine related to what I could do in the future for a career. In addition to this, having the magazine based on myself made me want to be styled in a manner that relates to me. It gave me the chance to express myself in a way that I haven’t done before, so people would be able to know more about me and my interests and ambitions in life. Therefore I translated this into my work by making it as good as I could and working hard on the project.

At the start of the project, I thought that I wouldn’t be able to get everything done in time and that I have set too much for me to do. However, it has been the opposite because I have managed to complete all the work that I have set out to, and I am happy with the outcomes. To make sure all the work would be completed I ensured I had a high work ethic and stuck to my time plan as best as possible.

The project was a good experience, from doing my day in the life to create the magazine at the end. Doing my day in the life allowed me to showcase what I enjoy to do so that ended up being a fun day. Overall, the whole project was a good and enjoyable experience and would be happy to do a similar project again (creating a magazine).

A new technique and skill that had been acquired in this project were animation skills so I could do the animation and animated poster. Skills that have been developed included the magazine creation, sticking to the codes and conventions of magazines and ensuring that it looked professional, like a real magazine. Since I had done a magazine before in secondary school I didn’t research the codes and conventions again for this project.

The equipment that was used within this project included a computer, sketchbook, graphics tablet, and a camera. Not a lot was needed for this project and I don’t think that was much of a problem for me. The equipment did help my creative work because the digital animation would have been much more difficult if I didn’t have a graphics tablet.

The project was a smooth ride to the finish with not many or any setbacks or anything going wrong. The only thing I can think of not being 100% is the animated poster which has got some glitches with the transition loop, but it’s nothing major in my opinion. But, if I were to do it again, I would look into that in further detail to see if I could adjust it to be more clear and not have hands appearing from nowhere.If I was to do this again I would maybe allow more time for the animated poster. To address this to future projects I will look at the time plan and maybe adjust a few things so that I can spend more time on a particular aspect within my project if necessary.

If I was to do this again I would maybe allow more time for the animated poster. To address this to future projects I will look at the time plan and maybe adjust a few things so that I can spend more time on a particular aspect within my project if necessary.

The project’s concept was adjusted from the beginning to the end, but only a minor adjustment. I changed the proposal from doing a magazine both print and online, I made it be only online because I didn’t think I would have enough time to print it out and bind the magazine together. I would also have to do extra research into materials that are used for magazines so that I can make it a realistic magazine. If I had more time I would’ve done both a print and digital version, therefore people who don’t have digital devices with the internet could view my magazine, therefore capturing a wider audience.

I think that other people will view my work as if it was a normal magazine, so maybe intrigued in the content. They might think that it is creative from looking at the front cover, and then this might engage the audience to read the magazine. The additions to having animated poster and animation links within the magazine, the audience might think that the magazine is different and unique compared to other magazines. The use of links being integrated into the magazine might be something that they like and would want in more magazines (digital versions).

From the people that have seen my final piece (magazine), they have thought it is really good. All aspects of the work they enjoyed – the magazine, animation, and animated poster. From that feedback, I am really happy with the work that I have produced for this project.

Leave a Reply

